What is Ayurveda

Ayurveda, an ancient holistic healing system, traces its roots back to the Indian subcontinent and has flourished for thousands of years. Derived from Sanskrit, “Ayurveda” translates to “the science of life” or “knowledge of longevity.” It is an art of healing that focuses on the balance of mind, body, and spirit, promoting natural remedies and preventive practices. Among the countries where Ayurveda has gained significant prominence, Sri Lanka stands out as a captivating destination for those seeking the traditional wisdom of this time-honoured medicinal science.


Ayurveda views each person as a unique individual, and its primary goal is to maintain and promote overall well-being rather than simply treating diseases. The foundation of Ayurveda is based on the concept of three doshas, known as Vata, Pitta, and Kapha, which are present in every human being. These doshas represent the five elements of nature (air, fire, water, earth, and ether) and govern various physiological and psychological functions within the body.


Moreover, Ayurveda aims to restore harmony and equilibrium within the body by utilizing a combination of personalized treatments, herbal remedies, specific diets, yoga, and meditation. It strives to address the root cause of ailments rather than merely treating the symptoms

Ayurveda in Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka has a rich history of Ayurveda, with its origins deeply embedded in traditional Sri Lankan medicine. The country’s proximity to India allowed for the seamless integration and exchange of Ayurvedic practices over the centuries. Today, Ayurveda is an integral part of the island’s healthcare system and is practised in parallel with modern medicine.


Ayurveda in Sri Lanka is not just a medical system but a way of life that embraces the interconnectedness of nature, mind, and body. The ancient wisdom of Ayurveda has found a nurturing home on this beautiful island, where its traditions have been preserved and passed down through generations. From the serene treatment centres to the specialized Neelammahara hereditary psychiatrist’s tradition, Sri Lanka offers a unique perspective on Ayurveda that continues to attract wellness seekers from across the globe. As this ancient healing system continues to thrive, its timeless principles remain a source of wisdom for maintaining holistic health and well-being.

Eight Branches of Ayurveda

Ayurveda looks at diseases as a state of disharmony in the body as a whole and is divided into eight branches, which are:

  • Kaya Chikitsa – Internal Medicine
  • Bala Chikitsa – Pediatrics
  • Graha Chikitsa – Psychological Medicine
  • Shalakya Tantra – Oto-Rhino-Laryngology and Ophthalmology
  • Shalya Tantra – Surgery
  • Agada Tantra – Toxicology
  • Vajikarana – Sexology
  • Rasayana – Rejuvenation

Neelammahara Hereditary Psychiatrist's Tradition

Among the many branches of Ayurveda in Sri Lanka, the Neelammahara hereditary psychiatrist’s tradition stands out as a unique and fascinating practice. This tradition, passed down through 7 generations, focuses on mental health and psychiatric disorders, incorporating ancient Ayurvedic principles with elements of traditional Sri Lankan medicine.

The Neelammahara psychiatrists are renowned for their expertise in diagnosing and treating various mental health conditions. They have an in-depth understanding of the mind-body connection and use personalized therapeutic approaches to address imbalances in the doshas that may manifest as psychological issues.]

The treatment methods employed by our Neelammahara psychiatrists include herbal medicines, specialized massages, meditation, and yoga. Our practitioners often work in close collaboration with other Ayurvedic specialists to provide comprehensive care to our patients.